E.ON Republic of Innovators - FAQ
What technical requirements and system requirements are necessary for a visit?
We recommend visiting E.ON Republic of Innovators with a desktop PC. You will need an up-to-date browser (we recommend Google Chrome) and a stable internet connection. Laptops and mobile devices may also be used. If you want to use the video call function in the networking area, you also need a webcam and a microphone.
On the log-in page and under the My Area menu you may carry out an automatic system check on the technical requirements of your device in advance.
MY AREA - Here you keep the overview!
After logging in, you can complete your profile. This acts as a virtual business card that you can actively pass on to other participants.
If you would like to participate in networking and be found by other participants, please activate the checkbox I would like to participate in networking with my profile. Hereby you release all entered data for your digital business card and the networking area. This can be accessed via the Networking menu bar. If you check the Networking box, we recommend entering a short description about yourself under About me and select up to five areas of interest. These will be used as a basis for matchmaking so that participants with similar interests will be displayed to you in the networking area. Adjust your networking settings at any time via the menu item My Area > Networking Profile.
Here you will find an overview of all items that you have bookmarked. Your bookmarks are sorted by the categories Session, Discussion and Contact. By clicking on the respective element, you can open it and participate in a session.
Here you can see when other participants have given you a business card. Keep them for later or contact the person directly using the communication options indicated on the respective card.
Under Appointments, you will find a chronological list of your remembered events and agreed-upon appointments. You can export them as an iCalendar file into your Outlook calendar. Appointments can be cancelled and bookmarked sessions can be deleted.
Under Manage Availabilities you can adjust time availabilities in which other participants can make appointments with you. The default setting is available from 12:00 hrs noon to 12:00 hrs midnight. You can change the date, period and duration individually.
When a new appointment request is received, you will be notified and have the option to accept or decline the request. The appointments will be saved in your calendar overview and you can access or join them from there.
Here you can see your active chat history. You can browse existing chats using the search function. If you want to start a chat with a new participant, please use the chat icon on their business card. You can find this in the networking area or the member’s profile. You also have the option to select your status in the chat. To do so, click on the dot on your letter in the upper left corner and select your chat availability. This way other participants can see if you are available in the chat.
SCHEDULE - At the right time in the right channel
Where can I find the programme?
The menu item Schedule takes you to the programme overview. Here you will find all events and sessions.
You can use the search function by entering specific keywords. By clicking on the respective programme item, you can display details about the session, respective speaker or stored documents.
Can I put together an individual programme?
You have the option of putting together your own individual event programme or pre-registering for individual sessions. To do this, please click on the bookmark on the programme item to attend. The respective session will be added to your calendar and your list of favorites. You can find these under My Area in the dropdown menu under your profile button in the upper-left corner.
How can I participate in a session?
On the start page you have access to the upcoming and past programme.All upcoming sessions are categorised as such in the programme overview. Nicht nur da, sondern auch in Schedule Past programme points can be viewed as Video On Demand shortly after broadcast under Recent Events.
INNOVATORS - How digital networking works in the Republic of Innovators
The prerequisite for participating in networking is the active release of your profile under My Area > Networking Profile. Please check the box I would like to participate in networking with my profile. If you have not released your profile, you will not be visible in the networking area and cannot be contacted directly by other members. However, you can actively approach other members yourself.
Where can I find other members?
In the Innovators menu item on the bottom of the page, all members who want to actively participate in networking are displayed. Sorting is done automatically according to your specified areas of interest, i.e. the highest matches are displayed first. You also have the option of searching for specific people or filtering by individual areas of interest.
What contact options do I have?
You have the following options for contacting others:
· Handing over a virtual business card
· Text chat
· Video call
You can see which contact options are available to you from a member on their business card (the symbols on the first line).
Exchange virtual business cards
By clicking the Transfer Business Card icon, a window will open and you can write a short message for the recipient. Press the Send button to send the message and your contact information.
Start text chat
Clicking the Start chat icon opens the chat area of the platform and you are in the direct chat with the selected person. Enter your message and send it by pressing Enter or clicking on the arrow.
If you want to continue existing chat conversations, select the corresponding chat on the left side. You have the option to mark chat rooms as unread or as favorites.
Start video call
You can use this function without a special program or download. By clicking on the Start video call icon on the member’s business card in the networking area, a window will open. If necessary, you can end the call at any time by clicking the red phone button. The called party is informed about the incoming call via a screen pop-up and has the option to accept or reject the call. If the recipient is not available, the connection is automatically terminated after one minute and he or she receives a notification about the missed call. If the called party accepts your call, a separate window will open.
Accept video call
You will be informed about an incoming video call via a pop-up window. You have the option of rejecting the call with the red phone icon or accepting it with the green phone icon. If you accept the call, you will be prompted to activate your camera and microphone.
How will I be informed about incoming contact requests?
Incoming contact requests are displayed to you via the notification function. This way you will not miss any requests, even if you are offline in the meantime.
The bell icon on the upper left side shows you the number of incoming requests with red numbers. Clicking on the bell opens a list of all missed contact requests, e.g. chat messages or video calls. You can now access them directly.
In My Area which you find in the dropdown menu under your profile button you will find icons for access to your favorites, calendar, direct chat and business card overview. New messages and incoming contact requests are also displayed here with a red mark.